circles

Archaeoastronomy


Equinox Observations at Atlatl Rock


Valley of Fire State Park, NV, USA

cross
 
 
    link Home    link Summary    link The Site    link My Visits    link Analysis & Results    link Resources    link Zusammenfassung
                                                                                                        |
                                                                          link Fall 2018 & 2017     link Spring 2023
Impressum 
Feedback 
 

Results of the spring campaign*

from March 24 to April 6, 2023
(3.9 days to 16.9 days after spring equinox)

to document the shadow movement at Atlatl Rock
at
~ 10:45 am PDT   and   ~ 11:00 am PDT


2024-03-24 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 3.85 days

2024-03-24 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 3.86 days

2024-03-25 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 4.85 days

2024-03-25 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 4.86 days

2025-03-26 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 5.85 days

2025-03-26 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 5.86 days

2026-03-27 17:44 UT
10:44 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 6.85 days

2026-03-27 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 6.86 days

2026-03-28 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 7.85 days

2026-03-28 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 7.86 days

2026-03-29 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 8.85 days

2026-03-29 17:59 UT
10:59 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 8.86 days

2026-03-30 17:30 UT
10:30 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 9.85 days

2026-03-30 18:15 UT
11:15 PDT                                     days after Equinox: 9.86 days

2026-03-31 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 10.85 days

2026-03-31 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                 days after Equinox: 10.86 days

2026-04-01 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 11.85days

2026-04-01 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 11.86 days

2026-04-02 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 12.85 days

2026-04-02 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 12.86 days

2026-04-03 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 13.85 days

2026-04-03 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 13.86 days

2026-04-04 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 14.85 days

2026-04-04 17:59 UT
10:59 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 14.86 days

2026-04-05 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 15.85days

2026-04-05 18:00 UT
11:00 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 15.86 days

2026-04-06 17:45 UT
10:45 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 16.85 days

2026-04-06 17:55 UT
10:55 PDT                                   days after Equinox: 16.86 days

 

*: from March 24 until April 6 2023 I documented the shadow at Atlatl Rock each day starting at about 9:00 am PDT until 12:30 pm PDT when the shadow on the petroglyphs was no longer visible as the whole area was in (self) shadow.

It turned out, that the best defined shadow line (in Spring) occured at around 10:45 am PDT when the shadow was very stable and straight.

This observations in spring that cover the time four days to seventeen days after the spring equinox (which was on March 20, 2023 at 02:24 pm PDT) complement the observations made sofar only in fall and demonstrate perfectly the symmetry of events in spring and fall.

    link Home    link Summary    link The Site    link My Visits    link Analysis & Results    link Resources    link Zusammenfassung
                                                                                                        |
                                                                          link Fall 2018 & 2017     link Spring 2023
Impressum  
Feedback  

  top                                                                                   © 2023 Helmut Steinle last update 2023-08-31  
by Helmut Steinle